commercepaster.blogg.se

Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working
Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working





wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working
  1. WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING INSTALL
  2. WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING SOFTWARE
  3. WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING PC

Then use that board on each drive to back up the data to new drives. I will use the other diode on one board to make one good board. This makes me believe that they are not zeners (regulation diodes).

wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working

I think one is for the 12v and the other is for 5v input power. there are two of these diodes on the board. Only issue is there is no protection for the drive without this diode. After removing the four screws holding it down to the drive connectors, I turn it over and tested the diode on the edge of the board near the connector. This indicated to me the board on the drive was shorted. When I plugged in the 12v dc supply and the usb cable to the computer the led light came on as usual when I plugged the interface(bridge board) back on the drive connector the light goes outt. When I disassembled the drive (using a plastic wedge to separate the housing).

WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING PC

This diode is on the pc board on the drive. can’t find out if it is a Protection diode or a zener. After doing some research I learned that there is a diode that commonly fails. They both failed thet same day within minutes of each other. Tags: Hard Drive How To's hard drive recovery hard drive repair Heat is one of the major causes of hard drive recovery.

WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING INSTALL

This will give you the option to install fans in it as well as be sure it has good power to the hard drive. If you want an external device you can run all the time the best course of action would be to buy a high end USB enclosure and a hard drive in the size you want and build your own. I always say that a My Book is a good product but only if you are going to plug it in just to back up and then leave it off most times. My guess would again be that the chassis has gone bad since this a very common problem. My guess would be that if he wanted to get permission from Western Digital to pop open the enclosure he would be able to rule out the insufficient power problem. it really could be all of the above fixes. Ok, so like the above user he eludes to the face that it just isn’t showing up. Is there ANY POSSIBLE way for me to get my files off of this thing? I plan on sending it in to get it warranted-but I want to recover my files first. It does not show up as an available drive when it’s plugged in. It appears that it isn’t getting any (sufficient) power. I used it in the morning and in the afternoon, it wouldn’t work. STUPID-I KNOW!!!!Ģ weeks ago it just quit working.

wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working

My CD-ROM drives quit working right before I got this….so I had not gotten around to “backing them up” on discs. I moved ALL my music, photos and personal files onto this hard drive. I bought a Western Digital My Book Essential Edition 1TB External Hard Drive in July ’09. Usually popping the enclosure open and then slaving it or putting it in a new enclosure fixes that problem. If it is not being seen in disk management then it is likely a communication problem with the USB enclosure (box holding the hard drive) and the computer.

WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT WORKING SOFTWARE

The other option is to run data recovery software on it and you should be able to tree the hard drive, move the files off, repartition/reformat, and move the data back. If it is then it is likely that the drives problem is a MBR (master boot record/partition record) problem that can easily be fixed with something like a remote recovery. You would need to go to disk management and then see if it is reporting as a mass storage device in the machine. So this gets a little tricky because just because “My Computer” isn’t seeing the drive it does not mean the computer is not seeing the drive. I’ve tried it on a different computer and had the same result It says “you may safely remove hardware” in the task bar My USB drives all work and I have other hard drives on the computer I follow the wizard steps and it says “successfully installed” but I cannot find my hard drive. When I plug it in to either the USB or FireWire ports the computer detects and the instillation wizard pops up. I have a 1TB Western Digital My book Hard drive. As always please leave a comment if you have a question or contact me directly at 72 ext 236. I have given what I think is the best solution to these problems. Below are some more fun Q&A about hard drive recovery.







Wd my book essential 1tb external hard drive not working